Learn More About BIM

As a BIM Company who provide CAD services, we are often asked about BIM and how companies can ensure that they are meeting the required standards for BIM Level 2 (as prescribed by the British Government). BIM as a process is constantly developing, and the Government has recently refined its definition of BIM Level 2 as a reaction to the feedback they have had from early adaptors across the industry. In this article, we will briefly outline the seven principles of BIM Level 2 as it stands today:

PAS 1192-2:2013

This is the publicly available specification (PAS) for information management that should be used during the operational phase of assets and builds on the processes that are covered in BS 1192-2007. This PAS covers recently introduced BIM concepts such as, employer’s information requirements (EIR), and BIM execution plans (BEP) and can be downloaded from the British Standards Institution (BSI) website.

PAS 1192-3:2014

This specification takes the processes that have been previously described in the 1192 publications and develops them, so that they can be used to cover operational life of assets. This has led to the introduction of new concepts such as, the Organisational Information Requirement (OIR), the Asset Information Requirements (AIR) and the Asset Information Model (AIM), which are really important documents for any company involved in Facilities Management.

BS 1192-4

This specification defines the expectations of any exchange of information that occurs throughout the lifecycle of an asset. It also includes reviewing and checking requirements concerned with compliance, completeness and continuity.

The BIM Protocol

As a BIM company, this booklet is our bible! It contains not only information about the BIM Models, that should be produced by the project team, but also information about specific obligations, liabilities and associated limitations of these models. The BIM protocol is also useful for clients who wish to adopt a certain way of working – such as a naming protocol for example.

Soft Landings

This describes the process of handing over a new or refurbished building where the project team is to watch over the building, fine-tune the systems and support the occupant for up to three years after the completion of the project (sometimes known as Government Soft Landing).

Digital Plan of Work

This is an industry standard method concerned with the description of data, geometric and requirement deliveries at key stages throughout a projects life cycle. It should, therefore, define the deliverables expected at each stage of the design, construction, maintenance and operation of built assets. It should also be made available to all members on the project digitally, so that they have a clear idea of what is expected of them.

Classification System

Last but not least, is a standard and structured classification system which will ensure that all data is available in a common format. Again, this classification system should be available digitally so that it can be integrated with the plan of work.

Being a company specialising in CAD services in London and CAD services in Dubai, we are delighted that the Government has refined their requirements of the BIM Level 2 to include the seven steps outlined above, as we feel this will give more clarity to the industry.

For more information about our BIM or CAD services, please call us on 0161 427 0348 (Marple) or +971 4 556 1988 (Dubai) or drop us an email at office@thecadroom.com